Board of Directors

Board Officers
Dorothy BraceyDorothy BraceyChairman, 2014–Present

Dorothy H. Bracey has a Ph.D. in social/cultural anthropology from Harvard University and M.S.L. (Master of Studies in Law) from Yale Law School. She taught Anthropology of Law at John Jay College of Criminal Justice (CUNY) where she is Professor Emeritus.

SAR LogoSusan L. FooteVice Chairman, 2014–Present

Susan Foote is an historian with deep interest in 17th and 18th century Britain.

Lynne WitheyLynne WitheyVice Chairman, 2014–Present

Lynne Withey received her Ph.D. in history at the University of California, Berkeley and her A.B. in American Studies from Smith College. She is the retired director of the University of California Press, publisher of scholarly books and journals affiliated with the University of California system.

SAR LogoAngela GonzalesSecretary, 2014–Present

Angela Gonzales received a Ph.D. in Developmental Sociology from Harvard University. She is an Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Development Sociology, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Cornell University.

Board Members
Donald BrenneisDonald BrenneisMember, 2014–Present

Donald Brenneis is a linguistic and social anthropologist at the University of California, Santa Cruz. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard.

Michael BrownMichael BrownMember, 2014–Present

Michael F. Brown is the President of SAR. He received his A.B. degree from Princeton and a Ph.D. in cultural anthropology from the University of Michigan. He has been awarded research fellowships by the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Science Foundation, the Smithsonian Institution, and the Institute for Advanced Study. Prior to becoming president of SAR, Brown served on the faculty of Williams College for 34 years.

SAR LogoVera R. CampbellMember, 2009–Present

Vera Campbell is President of Knitworks Design Zone (KWDZ Manufacturing), a Los Angeles company she launched in 1982 specializing in clothing for the junior market.

C. Wesley CowanDr. C. Wesley CowanMember, 2014–Present

Although popularly known as a mainstay of the PBS programs Antiques Roadshow and History Detectives, Wes Cowan is first and foremost an American anthropologist who holds a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

SAR LogoTim EvansMember, 2013–Present

Tim Evans practices in the area of Indian Law in several capacities, including tribal government, transactional, litigation, and federal representation matters. He frequently works with the federal regulatory agencies involved in tribal client matters, including the BIA and the National Indian Gaming Commission.

Donald S. LammDonald S. LammMember, 2005–Present

Don Lamm joined W.W. Norton & Company, Inc. as an editor in 1956, and retired in 2000 as chairman and president. From 1984 to 2000 he was chairman of Yale University Press. He has stewarded hundreds of books as a publisher and an agent.

Douglas L. NelsonDouglas L. NelsonMember, 2016–Present

Douglas L. Nelson, CPA, PFS, is a shareholder at TCI Wealth Advisors and maintains CPA licenses in California, Nevada, and New Mexico. Doug has been named regularly as a top advisor by publications such as Worth, Barron‘s, and Bloomberg Magazine. He is Treasurer of New Mexico Lawyers for the Arts and in 2011, he published his first book, Art, Artists, & Money.

Marcus RandolphMarcus RandolphMember, 2016–Present

Marcus Randolph is Chairman of Boart Longyear, the world’s largest minerals drilling services and equipment provider. Until September 2013, he was Chief Executive of Ferrous and Coal for BHP Billiton in Melbourne, Australia.

Julie S. RiversJulie S. RiversMember, 2016–Present

Julie S. Rivers is a resident of Santa Fe and an attorney associated with the Santa Fe firm of Gerber & Bateman.  Her areas of expertise include estate planning, mediation, litigation and collaborative services.  She earned a B.S. in English Education in 1984 from Oklahoma State University and a Juris Doctorate in 1992 from the University of Oklahoma Law School.

Elizabeth RoghairElizabeth RoghairMember, 2013–Present

Elizabeth Roghair has been a member of the SAR board since 2013. She chairs the Nomination and Governance committee and is interim chair of the Finance Committee. Elizabeth is a CPA and serves as treasurer of the Eldorado Area Water and Sanitation District.

Diane Stanley VennemaDiane Stanley VennemaMember, 2010–Present

Diane Stanley Vennema earned her bachelor’s degree from Trinity University and her M.A. in medical and biological illustration from Johns Hopkins University College of Medicine. She is an award-winning author of books for children and young adults, written under the name Diane Stanley.

James TrostleJames TrostleMember, 2010–Present

Jim Trostle received his Ph.D. from the University of California, San Francisco and Berkeley in Medical Anthropology and an MPH in epidemiology. He is Professor and Chair, Department of Anthropology, Trinity College, Hartford, CT.

Honorary Life Members
SAR LogoJohn S. CatronHonorary Life Member, 1998–PresentJohn S. Catron received a Juris Doctor degree from the University of New Mexico Law School in 1951. He was an Assistant District Attorney in the Fourth Judicial District of New Mexico from his graduation until 1953. Since then, he has been in the private practice of law with the Santa Fe law firm of Catron, Catron, and Pottow, P.A.
SAR LogoWilliam S. CowlesHonorary Life Member, 1996–PresentWilliam S. Cowles was born in 1923, and graduated from Yale University with a B.A. and from MIT with a Bachelors degree in architecture. He served as a destroyer gunnery officer and navigator in World War II.
SAR LogoFlora A. CrichtonHonorary Life Member, 1987–PresentFlora C. Crichton has formerly served on the Board of The East-West Center in Honolulu, Hawaii; the boards of Sweet Briar College and Trinity University; and the Board of Governors of the M.D. Anderson Cancer Centers Association. She is currently a member of the National Council of the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and president of the Flora Cameron Foundation.
SAR LogoDavid W. MatthewsHonorary Life Member, 1984–PresentDavid W. Matthews is retired from Healy-Matthews Stationers, Inc., in Santa Fe, which he founded in 1956. The company was sold in 1997. He served as president of the National Office Products Association from 1977 to 1978.
SAR LogoJames E. SneadHonorary Life Member, 1996–PresentJim Snead is married to Georgia Phillips Snead. He has 2 sons, James and Greg, and 2 daughters-in-law, Monica and Laura, and 2 granddaughters, Emily and Molly, and one grandson, Aidan.
SAR LogoBetty L. VortmanHonorary Life Member, 1988–PresentBetty L. Vortman is a native of rural Northeast Missouri, where she received a B.S. degree in Education from Northeast Missouri University (now Truman University). She retired from Sunwest Bank (now Bank of America) as Senior Vice President. Betty resides at La Vida Llena Retirement community in Albuquerque.

Follow us: